Kafka fragments

Chamber concert

Kafka fragments op. 24 for soprano and violin

This event is in the past. You can no longer purchase this.


Sarah Maria Sun, soprano
Elisabeth Kufferath, violin

György Kurtág (born 1926)
Kafka fragments op. 24 for soprano and violin

For years, the composer György Kurtág had jotted down excerpts from Kafka’s diaries, letters and left-behind fragments, which he considered “composable”. One day, a teaching assignment forced him to stop working on a piano concerto and, almost incidentally, he began sketching music for some of the fragments “like a little boy nibbling on forbidden sweets”. Unexpectedly, the Kafka fragments exerted a strange attraction on Kurtág: “Her world of pithy formulas – full of sadness and despair, full of humor and melancholy, so much at once…”

Tickets at 26 euros (Great Hall) and 18 euros (reduced 8) in the Salon are available in our webshop, at karten@villa-seligmann.de or by telephone on 0511 844887 200.
Admission is from one hour before the start of the event.

Villa Seligmann would like to thank the Bürgerstiftung Hannover for its kind support.

Hanover Community Foundation Logo